• Email Updates

    Stay Informed

    Enter your email to
    subscribe to my e-Newsletter


    Font Size A A A
    Thomas Bill Search
    Search by Keyword
    Search by Bill #
    Coming Soon

FEMA -- State of North Carolina Federal Disaster Declaration Fact Sheet

State of North Carolina

 Federal Disaster Declaration Fact Sheet 

April 19, 2011


On April 19, 2011, President Obama issued a major disaster declaration for the State of North Carolina, triggering the release of Federal funds to help individuals and communities recover from the severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding that occurred on April 16, 2011.  Details of the disaster declaration and assistance programs are as follows:


Declaration Number:                           FEMA-1969-DR


Incident:                                              Severe Storms, Tornadoes, and Flooding


Incident Period:                                  April 16, 2011


Federal Coordinating Officer:            Michael Bolch

                                                           National FCO Program


Individual Assistance:                        Assistance to individuals and households.


Designated Counties:                          Bertie, Bladen, Cumberland, Halifax, Harnett, Johnston, Lee, Onslow, Wake, and Wilson.


Public Assistance:                               Assistance for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities.


Designated Counties:                          Bertie, Bladen, Craven, Cumberland, Currituck, Greene, Halifax, Harnett, Hertford, Hoke, Johnston, Lee, Onslow, Pitt, Robeson, Sampson, Wake, and Wilson Counties for debris removal and emergency protective measures (Categories A and B), including direct Federal assistance, under the Public Assistance program.


Hazard Mitigation:                              Assistance for actions taken to prevent or reduce long-term risk to life and property from natural hazards.


Designated Counties:                          All counties in the State of North Carolina are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.


OTHER:                                              Additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the State and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.


If you have any questions or need additional information on this Federal disaster declaration, please contact FEMA’s Legislative Affairs Division at (202) 646-4500, FAX number (202) 646-3600.